Problem with tabs

1. 6 years ago

Hi everybody!I'm new in here and wondering why the text in the uke tabs is like :

C Em
    Somewhere xxxx xxx xxxxxxxx
    F C
    Way xx high
    F C
    And xxx dreams xxxx xxx xxxxxxx xxx
    G Am F
    Once xx x xxxxxxx

What's with the "x"s??

2. It's just the lyrics blocked out for copywrite reasons, at least I think so. Anyone correct me if I am wrong (:

3. Hey all,

I also don't get this (complete beginner here). The tabs don't look like tabs, they just show a chord over the lyrics not the four line tab you'd normally get. I don't understand how to play them. For example: http://www.ukulele-tabs.com/uke-songs/j ... -1124.html

C Em
    There's xx xxxxxxxxxxx of xxxxx
    Am G
    x xxxxx put xx xxx xxxx xx x postcard

I don't know how many times I strum the C before moving to Em and then to Am and so on. Do you just have to find your own rhythm? Why aren't the tabs like guitar tabs? I.e. :
    A|---------2--3---2h3p2-----------|
    E|-------3----0----------3/5------|
    C|-----2------0-------------------|
    G|---0--------0-------------------|

as shown on the 'how to read a tab' page? Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks all

4. "Frankie_B" Hey all,

I also don't get this (complete beginner here). The tabs don't look like tabs, they just show a chord over the lyrics not the four line tab you'd normally get. I don't understand how to play them. For example: http://www.ukulele-tabs.com/uke-songs/j ... -1124.html

C Em
    There's xx xxxxxxxxxxx of xxxxx
    Am G
    x xxxxx put xx xxx xxxx xx x postcard

I don't know how many times I strum the C before moving to Em and then to Am and so on. Do you just have to find your own rhythm? Why aren't the tabs like guitar tabs? I.e. :
    A|---------2--3---2h3p2-----------|
    E|-------3----0----------3/5------|
    C|-----2------0-------------------|
    G|---0--------0-------------------|

as shown on the 'how to read a tab' page? Any help would be much appreciated!