Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain

1. 4 years ago

The Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain will be touring the USA soon, and coming to Mondavi Center at UC Davis. It seems they have a tune they perform where they invite audience participation, "Relentlessly In C." We can bring our ukes into the hall and play along with that one tune. One of the directors of the Mondavi Center taught my youngest daughter to dance (ballet and modern) and they worked together in a kid's dance troupe, and my older daughter was one of her ballet and modern teachers (mainly for the youngest kids) at her dance school. Anyway, she knew I am a musician, and discovered I play ukulele, so I have been asked to lead an outdoor rehearsal of "Relentlessly..." prior to the concert. (!)

A San Francisco uke player will perform on the outdoor stage for a half hour, then I and three additional uke players (I get to choose) will lead all the uke players in a ten minute run of the tune, then she returns to entertain until the concert hall opens for us to enter.

I need to get this tune down!

2. Last night was the show. Uni and her Ukulele performed on an outdoor stage for the audience waiting to go into the theater, and twice during her performance, she got to take a break while I 9and a couple other members of Na Aikane) led those with ukuleles in a rehearsal of "Relentlessly In C."

-image-

After the end of the outdoor show, we noticed David Suich a soprano uke player with the Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain wandering about, and for information about bars in Davis that they could close that evening, he was happy to sign my uke.

-image-

3. After the show, my wife and I were led to the backstage dressing room, where one of their handlers introduced me to the members of UOGB to get the rest of their autographs on my uke.

-image-