Using your thumb = "cheating"?

1. 4 years ago

I play a few chords using my thumb. For example, for D I put my thumb across the second fret, minus the last (A) string. For E I do the same on 4th fret, and put my index finger on fret 2, last string. I also use my thumb on B and some other chords besides. Although I've been doing this for over 2 years (which is how long I've been playing), I still feel like I'm "cheating", if that makes sense.

Anyways, does anyone else besides me use their thumb in this way? Is it bad practice?

2. You shouldn't cheat. Look what happened to Lance Armstrong.

You don't want them to take away your ukulele, do you?

3. i'm fairly new to the ukulele and i don't think that it is cheating. i use it when it is too hard for me to create a chord and there is really many ways to play you just have to decide what ones are good for you. happy uke

4. I wouldn't consider it cheating, there is not a right way and a wrong way to play the uke. But still, is your hand really that small that you need to use your thumb?

5. [deleted]

3 Sep 2012

I agree with Joberst. Play the instrument the way you like it.

6. I've seen the thumb used to help form chords in a couple instructional videos. I don't see it as cheating.

7. Course it's not cheating - play it with your elbow if you like - what matters is the music that comes out of the instrument.

More seriously, many pros use the thumb to strum sections and lots for picking. It can give a mellower sound that is sometimes needed if you are playing a song that demands it.

8. thongar

4 Sep 2012 Moderator

You're defnitely not cheating. So many people use their thumb to pluck/strum, so there's nothing wrong with it. It just depends what you're comfortable with.

9. JaxX

4 Sep 2012 Moderator

"Joberst" I wouldn't consider it cheating, there is not a right way and a wrong way to play the uke. But still, is your hand really that small that you need to use your thumb?

totally agree