What Inspired You to Play Uke?

1. ‹ Older
  2. 6 years ago

A little girl from Thialand.

3. As a kid I would watch and listen to my daddy play on his big barotone ukulele. I would take his uke when he wasn't looking and play by ear. Later, I learned a few chords and the rest is history. So, there you go. It was my dad.

4. My boyfriend has one in his music room and so when I went to his house for the first time I demanded he show me something and he showed me how to play I'm Yours and now I can play it better than him I love it so much !

5. JULIA NUNES

6. Christofer Drew, and My counselor, and My aunt who all play ukulele. Christofer Drew is part of the band Nevershoutnever and several of his songs have ukulele. I love the ukulele sound and how simple it is.

7. I'm a drummer originally, but I bought a uke in Scotland last summer. It sat in a corner for a while,
    but then back problems kept me from the drums for some time. I then picked up the uke and caught the virus,
    including UAS. So now I have three ukes:

• Vintage VUK20 Soprano (the first one)
    • Korala UKT-40 Tenor
    • Makala MK-B Baritone
  8. I joined a sea shanty singing group this past winter. It soon became apparent that we wanted to broaden our repetoire which meant instruments. We had member who could play guitar, mandolin and flute, but I wasn't contributing anything. I saw a soprano at Guitar Center while getting bass strings for my son. $45, so I bought it on a whim. A week later I could play half a dozen songs well. I bought a tenor on ebay. I am totally hooked! I dream about playing uke as soon as I get home from work.

9. I injured my knee and knew the recovery would take several months, during which time I'd be spending a lot of time sitting around. What better way to spend the time than learning the uke?